Not Goodbye, Just See You Later

Standard

Dear friends,

I know I’ve been miserable at posting in December, even after swearing to a posting schedule. I’ve just been busy at work, down with a cold, preoccupied with Christmas decorations and gifts and baking and cheer—you know how all the excuses go. And since failing to meet my NaNoWriMo deadline (or even come close, yet again), I’ve been feeling kind of lackluster about writing, blogging and otherwise. So, after some deep thought, I’ve decided to take a hiatus from this blog.

I want to pen a novel, and to do that, I think I need to eliminate all other writing distractions. That goal will be one of only two resolutions for 2018, my 30th year. But it feels like a “big year,” the right time to hunker down and finally get this idea that’s in my head out onto the page. It might take a couple of months; it might take the entire year.

And my second resolution is also going to eat up a lot of time: running the New York City marathon in November 2018. It’s going to require a lot of training, much of which will be long runs to build up stamina and mental hardiness. I’ll also have to keep up with strength training and speed runs and do a few races to motivate myself. Eating and living healthily goes hand-in-hand with that, of course.

I’d like to still post every once in a while, to keep you in the loop on my progress/life, and to check in with all the dear friends I’ve made on this platform since I first started blogging. This isn’t full closure; it isn’t a goodbye. It’s more a see you later, see you soon—basically a “see you whenever I can spare a few minutes here or there to scratch out a quick update, recipe, or restaurant/book review.” I’ll also try to keep my Facebook page updated with short bursts, since that’s a bit easier than writing a full post.

In the meantime, thank you for your love, support, and willingness to read whatever I’ve written. Have a very Merry Christmas and the happiest of new years!!

xx
Chris

Share Your Thoughts with Me!