Women, Strong & United

Standard
IMG_1328

Created by O, The Oprah Magazine senior designer Tova Diamond.

Our entire office wore red today in honor of International Women’s Day and the women’s rights movement. Though we’ve made great strides in equality, there’s still a ways to go, both around the world and here at home in the United States.

Whatever your political views or cultural background, we should stand together as women, strong and united. There is so much to celebrate about each other: our tenacity, our individuality, our accomplishments, our collective voice.

In that spirit, I’d like to share some wisdom imparted by women (the last quote is my favorite!):

  • “Women, like men, should try to do the impossible. And when they fail, their failure should be a challenge to others.” -Amelia Earhart
  • “I am an example of what is possible when girls from the very beginning of their lives are loved and nurtured by people around them. I was surrounded by extraordinary women in my life who taught me about quiet strength and dignity.” -Michelle Obama
  • “I do not demand equal pay for any women save those who do equal work in value. Scorn to be coddled by your employers; make them understand that you are in their service as workers, not as women.” -Susan B. Anthony
  • “I do not wish women to have power over men; but over themselves.” -Mary Shelley
  • “It took me quite a long time to develop a voice, and now that I have it, I am not going to be silent.” -Madeleine Albright
  • “I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass.” -Maya Angelou
  • “I am not free while any woman is unfree, even when her shackles are very different from my own.” -Audre Lorde
  • “I say if I’m beautiful. I say if I’m strong. You will not determine my story—I will.” -Amy Schumer
  • “In the future, there will be no female leaders. There will just be leaders.” -Sheryl Sandberg
  • “Do not live someone else’s life and someone else’s idea of what womanhood is. Womanhood is you. Womanhood is everything that’s inside of you.” -Viola Davis
4 thoughts on “Women, Strong & United

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

