An Easter Run and Recipe

Standard

Of all the Christian holidays, the celebration of Jesus’ resurrection is the most joyous. The songs at mass are uplifting and glorifying. We share treats and dinners with family and friends. Even nature seems to feel the spirit: little tulip stalks pop up from the dirt, the sun makes us squint in every selfie. And we take joy in the little things, the memories we create: a good run, a broccoli soufflé cooling on the stove…

An Easter Run

The day before Easter, Todd and I ran our first 10k (6.2-mile) race, the NYRR Central Park Spring Classic. We woke up feeling lethargic and lazy and cold. Did someone say spring? Because it felt more like winter, with a gusting wind and a temperature hovering in the 40s. We pulled on our layers (me in my head warmer, Todd in his gloves) and lugged our bodies to the subway. The race route began at 102nd Street in Central Park, traversed down the park’s west side roadway, looped along the southern border, and then returned right back up on the east. After a bit of wandering, we found the starting line and stretched to warm up (both literally and figuratively).

12063719_10104803368328169_4496022553840020860_n

In our corral waiting for the race to begin.

Finally, we were off! The first two miles felt hard; my fingers were cold and the elevation steep. By the third mile, I started thinking maybe I should stick to 5ks in the future. As we made our way through the park, I tried to focus on the sights: pink flowers, cute dogs running around on the lawns, my office building peeping over trees in the distance. During mile 4 I turned my attention to my playlist, which currently consists of 700 songs—and I don’t like most of them. At mile 5 I started to speed up while still maintaining a reasonable pace, then I ran as hard as I could for mile 6 and the remaining quarter mile. I finished in 1 hour, 1 minute, and 54 seconds—just above my goal time (60 minutes) but just below my expected time (65 minutes). Todd came in two minutes behind me.

We celebrated our run by making Easter treats, like chocolate-covered pretzels, peanut butter eggs, and cookie dough balls. And vanilla bean cupcakes with coconut buttercream. And a s’mores pie. And then we sampled them all.

 

An Easter Recipe

For Easter dinner I contributed a fluffy yet creamy broccoli soufflé. I originally began with one recipe, but when I realized it got very bad reviews, I frantically searched for another. I stumbled across this one, but had to wing it because I didn’t have some of the ingredients and because I didn’t want to include cheese in my dish. I have to say, despite that, I’m proud of how it came out. Read on for the recipe…

12512240_10104806592611679_5064709708069998487_n

Ingredients
~1/4 cup butter
~1/4 cup flour
~1 cup whole milk
~1/4 tsp salt
~1/2 tsp pepper
~1/4 tsp. cinnamon
~6 egg yolks, beaten
~2 (12-ounce) packages frozen broccoli, cooked and chopped
~1 small onion, chopped
~2 tbsp. nonfat Greek yogurt
~2 tbsp. light sour cream
~8 egg whites, beaten

Preparation
~Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
~In a small saucepan over high heat: melt butter, stir in flour, and cook for two minutes. Remove from heat, add milk, and whisk vigorously. Return to heat and stir until smooth; while stirring, add salt, pepper, and cinnamon.
~Remove from heat and add egg yolks slowly, a little bit at a time, whisking constantly.
~Add broccoli, onion, yogurt, and sour cream and mix well.
~Fold in 1/3 of the egg whites, then fold in the remainder.
~Pour mixture into baking dish and bake, uncovered, for 45 minutes.

4 thoughts on “An Easter Run and Recipe

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

