A Bike Ride and a Lofty Goal

Standard

The TD Five Boro Bike Tour is a cycling race with a course that passes through each of New York City’s boroughs: Staten Island to Brooklyn to Queens to the Bronx to Manhattan.wp-1456171020530.jpg On May 1, 2016, the streets will be free of cars, volunteers will man four rest areas and three water stations, and musical performances will take place along the 40-mile route. Approximately 32,000 cyclists participate in the bike tour annually—and this year, Todd and I will be two of them.

My dad and my brother, also racing in May, have both completed the tour before. They also bike more frequently and for longer distances than Todd and I ever have. Our longest ride was last summer: 17 miles. And before 2014, we never cycled at all because of my fear of biking, which had lingered since a bad childhood fall. And yet, in a moment of zeal and idealism, we signed up for the bike tour. Now we have just under three months to prepare, to remind our bodies what it feels like in the saddle.

On Sunday we went out for our first bike ride of the year: 10 miles, one quarter of the distance of the bike tour. The first mile was a breeze—literally. It was all downhill and the wind blew unceasingly into our faces. The next few miles felt good, body warming up, mind focused on the task at hand. Around the halfway point we stopped at the beach to take a short break and, of course, a photo:

wp-1456171025028.jpg

By the seventh mile, my thighs ached. I stood in my seat to climb up hills even though my bike was set to the first and easiest gear. I thought of nothing but pedaling, pedaling, pedaling. When I tried to speed up, my feet didn’t listen and kept the same plodding pace. We arrived back home. I stepped off the bike. My legs felt like jelly. I had forgotten how hard biking is when you aren’t going out for regular rides. If that’s how 10 miles felt, how will I make it through 40? My motto: Go as slow as you want. Stop as many times as you need to. Just try your best and enjoy the ride. Wish us luck!

11 thoughts on “A Bike Ride and a Lofty Goal

  1. I find the more I ride, the better it gets. So if you can only ride a few minutes a day it really helps.
    You will do great on the tour, just think of everything you are going to see out there. You got this! And with him next to you..priceless!

    • Aw thank you so much for the encouragement and positivity! I will definitely try to ride as much as I can between now and then—good advice! Have a great week, and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. I love your motto, that is how I started out biking as well-just taking it slow and having fun. That is still pretty much how I still do it actually 😉 Good luck to you, keep on pedaling!

  3. Good luck to the both of you, I’m sure you will do fine and enjoy the experience. I recall running a half-marathon (13.1 miles) in Chicago and was so tired. I saw this lady on the side lines holding up a sign. The sign read, “One of these days you will not be able to do this. Today, isn’t that day.” I kept that in mind every race since and any time something gets difficult.

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

