All Things New

Standard

I admit that I find solace in my habits and routines. They help me feel safe, secure, protected, comfy. But one of my goals for 2016 was to get out into the world and create new experiences, no matter how tremulous I might feel about them. And I’m proud to say that, with the help of my family and friends, I’m making progress!

In January, my cousin (and soon-to-be maid of honor) and I participated in an Escape the Room game, where you’re locked in a room for an hour and have to solve puzzles in order to escape. We had fun strategizing, throwing out theories, and figuring out clues—but ultimately we failed to make it out in time. Even though we didn’t succeed, it was worth it just to spend time together. And the delicious Italian dinner we shared afterward definitely made us feel better.

On Saturday, I tried out a new hair salon with my mom. I hadn’t been happy with the brassy golden tones lingering in my hair, and I wanted to add some long layers to give it body without cutting off too much. It’s hard, but I’m trying to grow it out for my wedding in August. (Can you believe it’s only six months away?!) Not only did Mom and I get free cappuccinos at the new place, but our hair came out just as we had hoped it would.

On Sunday, I attended my first yoga class! Run by the donation-based Yoga to the People at the Upper West Side studio, the vinyasa class focused on smooth transitions between movements and basic poses like child’s pose, downward-facing dog, upward dog, chair pose, crescent pose, warrior I and II, camel pose, and a few others. Though I didn’t feel like I got a calorie-torching workout, I found the hour-long class enjoyable: it helped me find calmness and balance, both inside and out. I think I’ll try another class one of these days—maybe even hot yoga!

wp-1454947905299.jpg

With my new haircut, ready for yoga class.

7 thoughts on “All Things New

    • Thank you!! The outfit is from Carrie Underwood’s CALIA collection, which they sell at Dick’s sporting goods. It’s a little pricey, so I probably wouldn’t buy it on my own, but my boyfriend got me this one as a Christmas gift 🙂

  1. Your hair is gorgeous! 🙂 One of my goals for this year was to say “yes” more to things that scared me and are outside my comfort zone. So far I’ve met up with a vegan group (total strangers) for brunch, which was really great, and my husband and I made the decision to sell our house and move to a different one! New adventures are scary, but fun & exciting!

    • Thank you! I only wish I could blow it out the way they did in the salon (which is why it looks so good in the picture)! Going to a meet-up with strangers is so scary, but you must have felt so proud of yourself, and it’s great that it turned out to be a good time! I’m anxious about doing new things alone, so I’m still working toward that. I’d love to go to a Hungarian meet-up one day. Thanks for stopping by—and I hope you’ll post some pictures of your new house when you’re all settled. I bet it’s wonderful 🙂

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

