Winter Reading: One-Sentence Book Reviews

Standard

This weekend more than two feet of snow settled atop New York City’s streets and resulted in a travel ban and transit shutdown on Saturday that effectively trapped me at home. Despite all that, I had a great weekend: snow shoveling led to a snowball fight and a snow angel, followed by hot chocolate laden with marshmallows and whipped cream; Todd and I finally had time to relax and catch up on season six of Royal Pains; and I baked a walnut-topped blueberry loaf.

But one of my favorite moments during the blizzard came on Saturday morning while everyone else still slept, and I curled up on the couch with a blanket and a book in front of our electric fireplace. There are few activities as cozy and pleasurable as that, especially when you’re reading a novel you can’t put down. Unfortunately I’ve also slogged through some duds since I last posted a reading update. To help you decide what to pick up and what to pass over, I decided to write up a few one-sentence reviews about my winter reading picks thus far:

Worth It…

The Black Prism by Brent Weeks: The first in the Lightbringer series, this fantasy newcomer delivers a fresh, funny protagonist; an action-packed story with a mind-blowing twist; and a really detailed and really cool system of magic based on color.

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker: This gripping novel brings to life two creatures of legend, a golem named Chava and a genie whose real name is never revealed—and in prose as mesmerizing as the gleam of a magic lamp, it chronicles their very real, very human struggles.

The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller: Romance, tragedy, and magic fill readers of this short novel with a yearning and nostalgia they didn’t even realize they possessed.

Don’t Bother…

Fortress of Solitude by Jonathan Lethem: Though it began with a fun premise and quirky family dynamic, this novel quickly became an uninspiring commentary on urban life, with flat characters and lessons never learned.

After Alice by Gregory Maguire: A far cry from the delights of Wicked, this fantasy retelling succeeds only in making readers feel as though they’ve fallen down a rabbit hole and, in order to get back home, must wade through tiresome bouts of wordplay, boring character cameos, and two story lines that mostly ignore each other.

Season of Salt and Honey by Hannah Tunnicliffe: This breezy book’s thin plot and too-easy ending leave the reader unable to find anything meaningful in its love-story drama.

5 thoughts on “Winter Reading: One-Sentence Book Reviews

  1. RedHeadedBookLover

    Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

