My Year of Living

Standard

Every year on January 1, I review my list of resolutions from the previous year, checking off the goals I’ve accomplished and figuring out why I failed at others. I then use that list as a starting point for the upcoming year, modifying the difficulty level of my aims up or down depending on my progress. So here are my resolutions for 2016, and we’ll see together if I manage to stick to them.

This year, I headed my list with the word patience. I want to keep this word in mind as the days go by, a reminder to not only be patient with others, but to approach my goals with a measured, long-term outlook. I also created a mantra to guide me through the upcoming months: Accept, Remain Open, Stay Positive. Ideally I’d like to face every struggle with those words as my guide. They reflect my desire to make 2016 my year of living—getting out of my comfort zone to explore, learn, and grow.

Then come my actual resolutions:

Write & Read More
I started writing at least three novels last year, and only got about three chapters into each one. This year, I’d like to pick one manuscript to focus on and try to pen a rough draft by the end of the year. Then I can spend next year revising. As for reading, I surpassed my goal of 30 books in 2015; in 2016, I’ve upped the number to 40.

Learn More
I’d like to focus on learning some basic French before my honeymoon in August and I want to brush up on the Hungarian skills I haven’t used in six years. I also want to learn how to make yogurt, create pasta from scratch, and bake a strudel, among other things.

Live Healthier & Get Stronger
I did a good job at eating healthy and exercising in 2015, so I’d like to take this goal a step further this year by doing weights twice a week and finally running a half marathon (I’ve already signed up for one in October).

Spiritual & Personal Growth
This resolution reflects my desire to better show my appreciation and love for those around me throughout the year, and to try to increase my awareness of God’s light in all of us, whether that’s by practicing yoga, taking time to show gratitude, or going to church.

Other Goals
This is a miscellaneous category for additional aims I have for 2016: saving money for my upcoming wedding, creating a recipe index to keep track of foods I’d like to cook, and letting go of fear or anxiety when trying new things. Of course, I also want to try to blog at least twice per week, as long as I have something to write about! Thank you all for following me this far and I hope you’ll stick around another year.

6 thoughts on “My Year of Living

  1. It’s going to be a busy, wonderful year for you, Chris!! I love your mantra for 2016. It’s nice to read your resolutions for the new year, too. Keep us posted in the months ahead! For the past five years, I have been choosing ‘One Little Word’ for the new year. I’m really excited about my word for 2016. 🙂 Wishing you a Bonne Annee, dear Chris! ♡

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

