NaNoWriMo: The Halfway Mark

Standard

I haven’t posted since November 2 because I’ve been trying to focus my writing elsewhere: my novel. One of the many that I’ve considered, discarded, revived, let fall to the wayside, remembered again. It’s a fantasy story set in another world—well, five other worlds, really. There will be kings, and prophecies, and magic. There will, I hope, be intriguing characters and surprising plot twists. There will be hundreds of pages and hundreds of thousands of words.

Eventually. Right now, I’ve only got a few chapters and several thousand words. That’s not a very good place to be halfway through National Novel Writing Month (a.k.a. NaNoWriMo). Everyone who participates in NaNoWriMo aims to pen 50,000 words by the end of November. But considering I spent a week planning before I actually started writing, I’m not surprised that I’m lagging at this point. There’s only a week and a half left to scribble like crazy, and it probably doesn’t help that I’ll be celebrating Thanksgiving, shopping on Black Friday, and putting up my Christmas decorations during that time.

I’ve accepted that I might not reach 50,000 words by November 30. Maybe not even 20,000. And I’ve decided that’s okay, because at least I’m trying, which is more than I can say for my efforts during the prior 10 months. I’ll be happy if I can reach 50,000 words by the end of December without giving up. If I can achieve that, I plan to christen 2016 as ChriNo-WriYe: Chris’s Novel-Writing Year.

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

