Welcoming the Fall with Apple Picking

Standard
Sometimes you have to dig deep to get the best apples.

Sometimes you have to dig deep to get the best apples.

We kicked off the season last weekend with a quintessential fall activity: apple picking! We went to Barton Orchards, about an hour upstate from my house, and luckily we arrived early enough to beat the crowds that developed later in the day. Though I had worn a sweater in the morning, the weather warmed up enough that I didn’t need it, and it was a beautiful day to enjoy apple cider donuts and spend time with Todd and my parents.

The perfect fiance to carry the perfect pumpkin.

The perfect fiance to carry the perfect pumpkin.

The orchard also had pick-your-own peppers, tomatoes, and eggplants, as well as several varieties of squash for sale. The shop had pies, fudge, cookies, jams, syrups, and more. We bought gingerbread pancake mix and my favorite apple salsa (enough to stockpile for a few months). I wanted to venture into the corn maze, but the line snaked at least ten people deep, and Todd and I decided we could always return next month. We did, however, browse through the pumpkin patch, where I found the perfect pumpkin!

By the end of the day, we had gathered a 1/2 bushel of apples—gala, macintosh, granny smith, golden delicious, jona mac, and a few other varieties. Only, when we got home, I realized I couldn’t really tell them apart (except for the granny smith and golden delicious) until I bit into them. Regardless, we started using our apples right away. For dinner, we made a pork roast with roasted apples & apple jus; for breakfast the next morning, an apple cake topped with oats and walnuts.

Pork Roast Dinner

Apple cake

Tonight I might try my hand at some homemade applesauce, and I’ve bookmarked a bunch of apple-related recipes to test out over the next few weeks: autumn cheesecake with apples; apple blondies; butternut squash, apple, and sage soup; cran-apple muffins; and cider scalloped potatoes with gouda, among others.

What do you do with your fruit haul after apple picking? Please share if you have any cooking or baking ideas!

6 thoughts on “Welcoming the Fall with Apple Picking

  1. What a perfect way to celebrate Autumn, Chris! Mmmm! Your recipes sound wonderful. I love to make Cranberry Apple Crisp (Susan Branch). The whole house smells amazing and it’s delicious warm or cold. I can tell it’s going to be the Best.Autumn.Ever at your house! ♡

    • Thanks for stopping by, Dawn! Cranberry apple crisp sounds heavenly. I’m going to add Susan Branch’s recipe to my list. I’ve already looked it up and bookmarked the page on her blog! Thanks for sharing ❤ Wishing you a happy day—stay warm if it's cold by you; it's nippy outside here in NY.

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

