Recipe: Fig & Pistachio Vanilla Bundt Cake

Standard

Now that I have my own apartment, I spend most of my time in the kitchen. I’ve made cookies: old-fashioned raisin, double chocolate, chocolate chip. I’ve done lemon-blueberry and chocolate chip scones. I’ve even tried my hand at Hungarian plum dumplings. The next item on my baking bucket list? A layer cake with buttercream icing, all made from scratch. I haven’t gotten there yet, but I did take a baby step toward that goal: a fig & pistachio vanilla bundt cake. (I used this recipe as a base, though I modified it a bit to add nuts and vanilla bean, along with a few other minor changes.)

Figs

Gathering my materials

Ingredients
~2 cups all-purpose flour
~1 tbsp. baking powder
~1/2 tsp. salt
~13 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
~1 cup sugar
~3 eggs
~2 tbsp. vanilla extract
~1/2 vanilla bean pod
~1 cup plain Greek yogurt
~2 cups roughly chopped figs (optional: I mixed them with some Stonewall Kitchen fig-walnut jam after cutting; skipping this step probably won’t really affect the flavor of the cake)
~1/2 cup (or more, if you prefer) chopped pistachios
~Cinnamon and sugar for dusting

Fig Cake

Batter ready to go into the oven

Preparation
~Preheat oven to 350 degrees; butter bundt pan and set aside.
~In a small bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, and salt.
~In a large bowl, using a handheld mixer, mix butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time, then add vanilla extract and yogurt. Scrape the insides of vanilla bean pod into batter.
~Stir in dry ingredients from small bowl, figs, and pistachios. Mix well.
~Pour batter into pan and bake for about 40 or 50 mins, or until golden brown. (I used a removable tube pan for this recipe, which meant that I could sprinkle cinnamon & sugar on the top of my cake partway through baking; if you use a traditional bundt pan, layer cinnamon and sugar on the bottom of the pan before pouring in batter to give your cake a sweet topping.)
~Cool completely before removing from pan. Enjoy!

Fig cake

I couldn’t resist trying a slice once it cooled a little!

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Fig & Pistachio Vanilla Bundt Cake

  1. Mmmmm! This looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe. Have you been watching The Great British Baking Show on PBS on Sunday evenings? I think you would love it, Chris! ‘Autumn’ by Susan Branch is my very favorite cookbook for this time of year. So many of her recipes have become our family favorites! This hand-lettered, watercolored book is a treasure! Wishing you happy days in your new kitchen, Chris! ♡

    • Thanks for stopping by, Dawn! I have never watched that show, but I will definitely check it out. The book also sounds wonderful, though I have so many cookbooks I’ve yet to try that I can’t possibly add another to the collection haha ❤

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

