Recipe: Old-Fashioned Raisin Cookies

Standard

It seems counterintuitive to bake in the summer heat, but that’s exactly what I’ve been doing the past few weeks—and I love it! I’ve flagged dozens of desserts in the cookbooks I own and have saved even more as webpage bookmarks. (S’mores bars, I’m looking at you.) I plan to have quite a few yummy treats under my baking belt before the season ends.

I most recently tried my hand at cookies: old-fashioned raisin and double-chocolate mocha, some of which contained walnuts. Though both were a hit with my boyfriend, I preferred the warm, comforting flavor of the raisin cookies. To make them, I adapted a recipe from Get Your Bake On by Brian Emmett; most notably, I used coffee extract instead of brewed coffee (it required less cleanup).

Raisin Cookie Ingredients

Ingredients
~3 cups all-purpose flour
~1 teaspoon baking soda
~1/2 teaspoon salt
~1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
~1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
~1 cup vegetable shortening
~2 cups dark brown sugar
~2 large eggs
~1 to 2 teaspoons coffee extract
~1 cup raisins

Raisin Cookies Baking

Preparation
~Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
~In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
~In a large bowl, beat the shortening and sugar on medium-high speed until fluffy. (I used a handheld mixer, though the recipe recommends a stand mixer.) Blend in the eggs one at a time.
~Fill a measuring cup with 1/2 cup water and stir in 1 to 2 teaspoons coffee extract—or more, depending on how strong a coffee flavor you want. Pour into the large bowl.
~Add the flour mixture to the large bowl as well, beating on low speed until completely combined.
~Fold in raisins.
~Dollop onto a cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until the cookies are golden.

raisin cookies

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Old-Fashioned Raisin Cookies

  1. Mmmmmm! I think I can smell your old-fashioned raisin cookies from here, Chris! It sounds like you are not only making sweet treats, though. You are truly making sweet memories in your new apartment! 🙂 So happy for you, Chris! Wishing you sweet August days! ♡

    • Thank you for stopping by, Dawn! We are making great memories, for sure, with all the cooking, baking, and wedding planning that has been going on over here 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week as well ❤

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

