Recipe: Seven-Mile Tropical Smoothie

Standard

Excitement over an unexpected job offer yesterday and delight in the gorgeous 82-degree day inspired me to not only lace up my Asics Gel Noosa Tri 9s and hit the pavement, but to run farther than I ever have before: seven miles! Although I won’t be winning any marathons at my pace—11:55/mile, and about 1 hour and 23 minutes in total—I didn’t feel too exhausted afterward. In fact, I had enough energy left to make a delicious cold beverage in honor of my new PR. I’m hopeful that its bright coral hue, fruity flavors, and white chia seeds will give me the oomph I need to start organizing collectibles in my new apartment after I finish this post.

Seven-Mile Tropical Smoothie

Ingredients
~1/4 cup peeled, sliced mango
~1.5 cups peeled, cubed papaya
~1 small white peach
~1 banana (frozen or fresh)
~5 small strawberries, hulled
~1 Health Warrior Chia Bar in Coconut
~1 cup ice cubes

Seven-Mile Tropical Smoothie

Preparation
~After preparing your mango and papaya (or buying them precut), layer them along the blender’s bottom.
~Remove the skin from the peach, slice it, then place it on top of the mango and papaya.
~Peel the banana and chop it into small rounds; add them to the mixture. I had frozen mine two days ago so it was still a little icy, but I’m sure a fresh banana would work just as well.
~Cut the strawberries in half and toss them into the blender.
~Crumble up the chia bar into small pieces on top of the fruits. I don’t like seeds in my smoothies, so the chia bar is basically my cheat trick. It breaks up pretty well during blending, and if you do encounter bits of it, you experience a soft chew rather than a hard crunch.
~Add 1 cup ice cubes (I softened them a bit under hot water beforehand), then blend until the smoothie reaches your preferred consistency.

*As far as I can tell (using a rough estimation of amounts and MyFitnessPal), a 1 cup serving comes out to around 175 to 200 calories.

Seven-Mile Tropical Smoothie

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Seven-Mile Tropical Smoothie

  1. So much to celebrate, Chris! Huge congratulations on your new job offer, a great run, and your new apartment! I can just feel the happiness clear over here! Your yummy smoothie is the perfect celebration of dreams coming true! So happy for you, Chris!! (Too many exclamations… but some celebrations require ALL of them!) ♡

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

