Recipe: Cinnamon Maple Walnut Butter

Standard

I subscribe to at least 10 different magazines, which I make sure to read cover to cover every month so that I can learn new information, whether it’s about the top vacation destinations or how to take better care of my hair and skin. But the recipes are always my favorite part of any magazine, especially when they’re quick, easy, and delicious. One of my current go-to recipes is the do-it-yourself cinnamon maple walnut butter recommended by Runner’s World as a high-protein snack or lunch. I love it so much that I have plans to try out all of the other flavors, especially the almond coconut butter, and even to experiment with my own macadamia butter.

Banana slices topped with walnut butter and diced dried plums

Banana slices topped with walnut butter and diced dried plums

I couldn’t resist sharing the Runner’s World recipe here on my blog, though of course I have a few disclaimers to make before I do: Although the magazine suggested adding salt, I found that I didn’t need it. And instead of buying roasted walnuts, I just bought a bag of regular walnuts and roasted them myself in the oven. Because I used a little more than the cup of nuts that the recipe calls for, I also added a pinch more maple syrup. I love that the sweetness of the nut butter comes directly from the pure maple syrup, rather than some artificial or added source.

Ingredients
~1 cup walnuts
~1 teaspoon pure maple syrup
~1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Roasted walnuts

Preparation
~Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and pour the walnuts into a small baking pan. Once the oven is hot, roast the walnuts for about 10 to 15 minutes, occasionally shaking the pan to help them roast evenly.
~When the walnuts have cooled, toss them into a blender. Blend for 3 to 5 minutes, stopping to scrape down the sides as necessary.
~Add syrup and cinnamon and blend for another 2 minutes or until smooth. The more you blend, the fluffier your nut butter will get. Although the photo on the Runner’s World website makes these butters look as smooth as any nut butter you can buy in the store, I couldn’t get mine to entirely lose it’s slightly crumbling texture. Maybe I’ll have better luck (or more patience when blending) next time!
~Transfer the nut butter from the blender into a glass jar. You should have about 1/2 cup of butter, which lasts surprisingly long. (And for those of us who are nutrition obsessed, it’s helpful to know that two tablespoons of walnut butter have about 200 calories, according to Runner’s World.)

Nut butter in a blender

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Cinnamon Maple Walnut Butter

  1. What a yummy, high-protein lunch, Chris! Your other ideas for nut butters sound amazing, too. Thanks for sharing these healthy recipes with us. Wishing you a happy week! ♡

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

