Recipe: Cherry Oat Bread

Standard

cherry oat breadWhen my mom’s friend said she made a cherry oat bread, I knew that was something I wanted to bake, and luckily I had my mom’s help guiding me through. Though my mom’s friend kindly provided us with her recipe, we didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand, so we modified it as we went along, using a recipe we found online as a guide. The result was a moist, tasty, nutritious bread that satisfied everyone—chocolate chips on one side for me and my brother, walnuts on the other side for my mom, and some plain cherry slices in the center. The chocolate chip side tasted especially good when warm from the oven!

Ingredient List
~1 cup of dried cherries
~1 cup of buttermilk
~1.5 cups all-purpose flour
~3/4 cup of rolled oats
~2 tsp baking powder
~1 tsp baking soda
~A pinch of salt
~1 cup vanilla yogurt
~2 tbsp vegetable oil
~2/3 cup sugar
~1/2 cup egg white substitute
~2 tsp vanilla extract
~One 9×5 loaf pan
~Nonstick cooking spray
~Optional: chopped nuts, chocolate chips, or anything else you want to put in the bread

Preparation:
~About 25 minutes before preparing the bread, let the dried cherries soak in the buttermilk in a small bowl to soften.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

~After the cherries have soaked for the appropriate length of time, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
~Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA~In a smaller bowl, whisk together the yogurt, oil, sugar, egg substitute, salt, and vanilla. Then, pour in the buttermilk-cherry mixture and stir well.
~Transfer the contents of the smaller bowl to the larger bowl and mix together until just combined. It should still be somewhat lumpy to give the bread some texture.
~At this point, you can also add nuts or chocolate chips that you’re going to include in the bread. We waited and added ours after the batter was in the pan, but that was only because we wanted to keep the chocolate chips on one side and the walnuts on the other.
~Coat the loaf pan with nonstick spray and pour the batter into the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA~Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
~Let cool for a bit and then enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

13 thoughts on “Recipe: Cherry Oat Bread

  1. I love your blog, your posts are amazing! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

  2. This sounds really yummy, Chris! Thanks for sharing your recipe. What a great idea to soak the dried cherries in buttermilk. Such a clever idea to add favorite ingredients to each half of your Cherry Oat Bread! I’m sure it was a real treat for the whole family! Happy Weekend, Chris! ♡

  3. Yum! Looks delicious. I love the idea of soaking the cherries in the buttermilk first, instead of water. I’m going to try that for my buttermilk waffles. Nice that you each had your own section, like a pizza with pepperoni on one half and veggies on the other 🙂

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

