New Goals for the New Year

Standard

As much as I wanted to love teaching, I have to admit that it just isn’t the right career for me. I miss working with words and nitpicking over small grammar issues. I miss proofreading galleys with colored pens and using proofreading symbols. I miss having discussions about artwork, redesign, and cover lines. It’s become clear to me that editing is truly the profession in which I belong. I don’t regret trying out teaching, because now I won’t always wonder whether I would enjoy it, but I am glad that I very quickly realized that I already knew where I belong. Now I just have to get back there.

My first and foremost goal going into the New Year, then, is to find a job that I enjoy back in the editing world. I’ve realized that it’s so important to do what you love, because otherwise your dissatisfaction with work begins to spread into other areas of your life as well. I’m trying to have hope that I will find the perfect fit at a company I can respect, and I will do all that I can to work toward achieving that placement. I want to bring in the New Year with a positive and hopeful outlook that I am back on the right path, and that I will succeed.

My remaining resolutions for 2015 sound very similar to the long list that I wrote at the start of 2014, most of which I did a pretty good job keeping up with. Here are my top 10 goals for 2015. How do they compare to your goals? Are there any that we can work toward together?

1. Find a new job in the editing world
2. Be more appreciative of life and practice being a better girlfriend, daughter, sister, friend, etc.
3. Finish writing a novel.
4. Run my first 10k race and my first half marathon.
5. Learn how to speak basic German and practice Hungarian.
6. Read at least 40 books, up from the 32 I read in 2014.
7. Start a new crochet project.
8. Deepen my yoga practice.
9. Learn how to make my own yogurt.
10. Blog regularly!

I want to wish all of my readers and friends a very happy New Year. I hope that you make a similar list of ambitious goals. Even if we don’t achieve every single one, the important part is that we’re aiming to become better individuals and that we’re willing to try.

23 thoughts on “New Goals for the New Year

  1. I had a similar experience with teaching — and it’s just so hard to realize that it’s not the best fit when you also care about your students. But it’s also important to figure out what suits you, and eliminating certain professions can really help clarify that.

    • Which grade did you teach? My students are in fourth grade. I feel so bad about trying to find another job precisely because some of them are so cute and try so hard, and I had to let them down and leave. But the unfortunate conclusion that I came to is that sometimes you just have to do what’s best for you and move on.

      • Most recently I taught English 101 to college freshmen. It was a struggle because most students take the course just as a requirement, rather than out of interest. But I also worked at an after-school program in the past and was in charge of the second-grade group — leaving that position was a bit heart-wrenching, because I just worried about the kids and how they would do — not necessarily because I thought they were dependent on me, but because I knew they struggled with different issues and I wondered how they would develop. In this situation it was just time for me to relocate. I felt better about the situation when they hired someone I knew would be able to do good work. Maybe you’ll have a similar experience?

  2. Good thing you discovered teaching isn’t for you. So many people are stuck in jobs for decades that they don’t like.

    This is a wonderful and ambitious list. I think I’ll give myself a book quota this year too. I have a few goals including eating less sugar (my Achilles heel). So far so good 🙂 Have you started writing a novel (I ask because you said “finish” which makes me think you have started at least one)? Good luck with your job search. I think your blog is a nice piece of your portfolio if you decide to use it that way. I hope you have a superb 2015!

    • Eating less sugar is definitely on my longer list of goals as well. It’s just so good!

      I did start working on two different novels last year, one a fantasy novel (my favorite genre since as far back as I can remember) and one more of a mainstream fiction idea. I didn’t get very far with either of them, so I’d like to take some time to really develop them and hunker down with the writing this year.

  3. Hello Chris,
    I only started blogging a few months ago and found your website accidentally (which is how these things work I suppose). But this post made me feel we´re kind of on the same track. I too just quit my teaching job (though I might go back one day) and am trying to write a novel. My crochet project lies half finished in the cupboard, waiting for me to pick it up again, as does that handbook for learning German. There´s also a pile of books waiting to be read and as a newbie I am trying to keep those two blogs I started up last autumn (one in English, one in Dutch) alive.
    So let´s see how we´ll do this year 🙂
    Greetings from Spain!

    • Wow! It definitely sounds like I am your American personality doppelgänger. What are you thinking your novel will be about? Thanks for commenting and following 🙂 I’m trying to follow your English blog, but I can’t seem to find it! What’s the link for it? Happy New Year!

      • Hey Chris, you can find the English blog on https://allesuitdekast.wordpress.com/
        (which is a Dutch title, silly enough, but you can find the explanation on the blog itself). I just post some short things there from time to time. the Dutch blog is about life in Spain, which I would like to translate into English, but I don´t know if I´ll have the time for it this year… the novel that´s in my head… well, I have at least two ideas for longer stories (for the moment I´ve only written shortstories), but the most serious one is about a girl who lives with her uncle, revealing little by little what happened to her parents. But ufff, it´s going to be a lot of work! What is your novel about?
        hey, and did I read it right, are you getting m,arried this year? That´s so exciting!!
        I saw the picture you posted of the wedding venue you chose, it seems sooo romantic…
        Do you already have a date? And, most important of all: a dress?

        • That sounds like an interesting novel idea! I’d be interested to read it 🙂 If you need someone to look over a first draft or use as a soundboard when you’re stuck, you know where to find me haha. I have three novels going at the same time, though to be honest I haven’t worked on either in months. I think I’ll need to pick one to focus on in 2015. One is a pretty typical fantasy novel (always my favorite genre), one is about a couple in Hungary and the woman gets kidnapped (or at least that’s what her husband thinks happened to her) and he spends the book trying to find her and unravels this whole larger mystery in the process, and the third is the least formed so far, and all I know for sure is that it’s about a group of four very close friends and chapters alternate among their perspectives, but I haven’t really found any plot to it yet haha

          I’m getting married next year, August 6, 2016, but yes, it is very exciting! But no, no dress yet! I figure there’s still some time for that… first we’ll have to worry about photographers and everything. I hadn’t had much time to think about it lately because of how stressful teaching was, but hopefully now I’ll have some more time. I’ve also been thinking about apartment design and furniture, since we’re moving into an apartment together in the summer! Super exciting but so expensive though X_X

          • Your novel sounds very interesting too, and set in Hungary that must be quite a challenge, but I suppose you have family there? Very interesting indeed, I too am always up for some proofreading! And I know the feeling of working on several projects at the same time and therefor not getting anything done haha 🙂 I wish you good luck on it!
            My “novel” is in Dutch, but I am working on a shortstory in English, and I´d be very happy if you´d like to proofread it, because I´m not a native English speaker, so I´ll definitely need someone to check the language for me. But I first have to get it finished of course. I´ll send it to you when it´s ready!
            I don´t know that much about fantasy, but it´s a genre that´s becoming quite popular here as well. Who´s your favourite writer?

            • Yep, I have family in Hungary on my dad’s side. I’ve met up with them twice now and it’s such a great experience because even though we don’t really talk much, there’s instantly that family bond when we’re together.

              Great, definitely send me your English short story when it’s finished! My favorite writer in general is Tim O’Brien, best known for “The Things They Carried.” I also really love Ernest Hemingway. My favorite fantasy writers are Margaret Weis & Tracey Hickman, who usually write as a pair. Who are your favorite writers?

  4. Joann Doka

    Beautiful blog post Christina, very inspiring! You can attain whatever you put your mind to! Not to worry, you are already the best daughter we could have hoped and such a blessing! Happy New Year 2015! Wishing you God’s best blessings!!

  5. Rosalie Fleischer Gallucci

    Chris- You are so blessed to have these answers at your young age. Always having the education is so wonderful for you! God bless you in all your endeavors. Rosalie Date: Wed, 31 Dec 2014 13:50:50 +0000 To: roster1964@hotmail.com

  6. Love your new post, Chris! You are a special part of the blogging community! The New Year will be filled with so many new possibilities for you. Best wishes with your goals! Happiest New Year! ♡

    • Thank you so much, Dawn! Happy New Year to you, as well. I’ll be thinking of you while I, too, watch the ball drop on tv because it’s too cold to venture outside and much too comfy inside! ❤

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

