Celebrating My New Job with Shake Shack

Standard

Juicy burgers with extra onions and shake sauce. Crinkle-cut fries. Creamy chocolate-vanilla swirl shake. I rarely eat fast food, but I couldn’t pass up the chance to get Shake Shack when I went out to Roosevelt Field mall last weekend. Besides, I had a reason to celebrate: I had completed my first week on my new job!

10358570_10103374743039699_7005188347357173680_n

Some of you already know, but I’d like the rest of you to meet “Ms. Doka”—at least, that’s what the students in my fourth grade class call me, when they remember my name. I just started as an associate teacher at a charter school in the Bronx. It’s a lot of work so far and hard to earn the students’ respect since I’m new and coming in partway through the year, but I’m willing to put in the hours and the effort to help these children succeed. They need someone who will believe in them, encourage them, and build up their confidence. Plus, it’s great to gain some actual classroom experience while studying for my master’s in elementary education at St. John’s in Queens.

So, even though my weekend was swamped with library trips and lesson planning, I found some time to celebrate with a nice, thick black and white malt shake. And, of course, being with Todd and my parents made it even better.

Shake Shack

5 thoughts on “Celebrating My New Job with Shake Shack

  1. I’m so happy to hear your exciting news, Chris! What a wonderful step into the world of teaching! You will always remember your first classroom. It remains in your heart forever! ♡

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

