Restaurant Review: Corfu Grill

Standard

Lately, Todd and I only go out to eat on Thursdays before my class at St. John’s University in Queens, and usually we just get something light and quick. But yesterday we decided to try out Corfu Grill, a casual Greek restaurant in Forest Hills that came highly recommended. I hadn’t originally planned to blog about it, so I didn’t bring my “real” camera with me, but the food tasted so good that I knew I just had to share this hidden gem. (I apologize in advance for the low-quality phone photos.)

The menu started with hot and cold appetizers, including feta and olives, hummus and pita, spinach pie, cheese pie, grilled octopus, Greek pizza, and chicken kebab sticks, among many other options. It also offered soups, salads, burgers, and sandwiches. Though the gyro sandwich and the veggie sandwich both sounded appetizing, Todd and I decided to go with full plates, which came with a Greek salad, tzatziki sauce and pita bread, lemon potatoes, rice, and lima beans. Todd got the Greek lasagna ($16) and I went with the pork souvlaki ($15). For pretty reasonable prices, we got more food than we could even eat!

Greek salad, Corfu Grill

We started off with the Greek salad, which featured kalamata olives (though I had been hoping for black olives), cubes of feta cheese, tomatoes wedges, crisp lettuce, and a tangy dressing. It was accompanied by triangles of pita and paprika-topped tzatziki sauce. The tzatziki sauce could have been a little creamier, but the cucumber and yogurt flavors were evenly balanced and perfectly cool and refreshing.

Pita and Tzatziki Sauce, Corfu Grill

I was already starting to feel a little full, so my jaw dropped when I saw the sheer amount of food on the entree plate. The lemon potatoes had just the right amount of zest and they nearly melted in your mouth with each bite. The lima beans and the rice worked perfectly together. The pork boasted a crunchy outside and a tender inside, and it tasted especially good when dipped in the tzatziki sauce.

Pork Souvlaki, Corfu Grill

All in all, I really enjoyed this meal, and I definitely plan to visit Corfu grill again. Maybe next time I’ll go with a larger group of people so that we can get some appetizers or dessert as well.

One thought on “Restaurant Review: Corfu Grill

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

