Returning Home Sweet Home

Standard
Wedding Ring

Engagement ring

I love traveling, from flipping through magazines on the plane ride to exploring new places and having incredible adventures. My recent trip to Disney World with my boyfriend checked all of those boxes. We ate at some delicious restaurants, like The Wave; we ventured on Disney’s Wild Africa Trek in Animal Kingdom, which I’ll hopefully get a chance to review in a later blog post; and I saw my first Cirque Du Soleil show ever. Todd and I even found time to exercise by doing yoga in our hotel room, riding surrey bikes around the boardwalk, jogging around our resort, swimming in the pool, and walking pretty much from the moment we woke up to the minute we collapsed in bed every night. Of course, I can’t forget the most exciting part of our trip: our engagement. Todd popped the question on the observatory deck of the California Grill restaurant, right before we watched the fireworks exploding over Magic Kingdom. As you can probably guess from the picture, I said yes. After our stay in Disney World, we visited my grandparents and had a great time cooking Hungarian food like palacsinta and chicken paprikas with them. We also went bowling (they won) and played cards (they won again).

But even though I had a really great trip, I increasingly found myself missing home, from the small things like the scented candles my mom burns to the blanket I sometimes carry around the house with me. More importantly, I missed my family, even though I texted my mom nearly every day and sometimes spoke to my parents on the phone while away. I missed hearing my dad tell us about his day at the dinner table; I missed my mom walking me to the door in the morning before I leave the house for work. I even missed my younger brother, who steadfastly ignores me most of the time.

As it turns out, one of the best parts of my trip was the ending. When I got home, a surprise awaited me! My parents had decorated our kitchen with balloons and streamers to welcome us home and congratulate us on our engagement, and they even bought us some great gifts, like the swinging chair that we’ve been wanting from Pier 1 and a beautiful Rapunzel figurine. Overall, I had a wonderful trip, but I’m glad to be back in my home sweet home with my family.

Beautiful decorations my parents set up for me and Todd.

Beautiful decorations my parents set up for me and Todd.

Cute plates and napkins my mom bought to use during dinner.

Cute plates and napkins my mom bought to use during dinner.

Rapunzel figurine that I've been admiring for some time and now finally can add to my collection.

Rapunzel figurine that I’ve been admiring for some time and now finally can add to my collection.

Sitting in my swinging chair (which isn't actually set up on its stand in this picture), happy to be home.

Sitting in my swinging chair (which isn’t actually set up on its stand in this picture), happy to be home.

15 thoughts on “Returning Home Sweet Home

    • Thank you so so so much for your happiness and well wishes!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I can’t wait to post about my progress in planning… I absolutely LOVE planning, so this is super exciting haha

      • Lisa

        I was going to ask if you were going to blog about your planning, but I didn’t want to be pushy! LOL.
        I love watching the creative process work, especially for weddings. I’m sure it will be wonderful! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  1. Congrats! The ring is so pretty. I love that Rapunzel figurine too, I used to have a bunch of more low key Disney figurines that I just gave away because they aren’t particularly unique/special, but I would definitely start collecting again if they looked like yours!

  2. Congratulations, Chris and Todd! Savor every magical moment of your whole engagement. It’s such a special time in your lives! Happiness always! ♡♡

    • Thank you so much, Dawn! I’m so excited for all of the planning that’s ahead. And thanks for stopping by ❤ Now that I'm back home, I have to catch up on all of my blog reading!

  3. Joann Doka

    Awww… our pleasure Christina for you, my Sweetpea are the best daughter parents can ask for!! So very happy for you and Todd … much love and happiness to you both always!! xoxo

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

