Restaurant Review: The Wave … of American Flavors, at Disney’s Contemporary Review

Standard

I didn’t plan on posting up a restaurant review quite so soon after my recent post raving about Artist Point, but only two days later I discovered what might actually be my favorite restaurant at Disney World: The Wave … of American Flavors at Disney’s Contemporary Resort. Those of you who’ve been reading this blog for a while know that I’m all about fresh, natural food with as little processing as possible–and that’s what The Wave is all about too. Many of the ingredients are locally sourced and organic, and most entrees come with a bounty of delicious veggies that excellently complement the dish. I’m not a picky eater, but I am also not afraid to speak my mind if there’s something I don’t like, and I have to say that I had not one complaint about this meal (except for the fact that I can never get used to the taste of Florida tap water)!

From the moment you walk into The Wave, it’s as though you’ve entered another world, one that’s dim and quiet and peaceful after a long day in the parks. We had spent the day at Magic Kingdom (the first park visit of our current trip!), and I felt a little exhausted, despite having had a great time. But even though plenty of families with young children dined around us, our attentive and knowledgeable server Jim and the soft, romantic lighting made Todd and I feel as though we were the only two people in the restaurant. The “wave” theme carries throughout the room, from the feature wall behind the front desk upon entry to the backs of the chairs and the metal designs along the ceiling.

The Wave

While we perused the menu, we noshed on some delicious multigrain bread and sipped some lemonade topped with wildberry foam. It took us some time to decide from among the varied options, which ranged from sustainable grilled or sauteed fish to a beef tenderloin that Jim said was so soft a butter knife would just slide right through it.The salad appetizers sounded really good, especially a Florida peach salad with pecan praline and goat cheese. Eventually we decided on scallops for our appetizer, since they aren’t quite as light as a salad but not as filling as the signature appetizer for two, which featured sustainable fish tacos and crab cakes. And we made the right choice; the pan-seared scallops were soft and juicy, the bacon tasted crisp and smokey, and the roasted corn and cheddar risotto had a delicious but subtle flavor that didn’t overwhelm the fish.

The Wave

For his entree, Todd decided on the naturally raised pork tenderloin that came on a bed on onion-potato puree, with organic green beans and veal jus. He enjoyed the juiciness of the pork and the sharp, deep flavor of the potato.

The Wave Pork Tenderloin

I chose the beef tenderloin, which arrived topped with caramelized mushrooms; however, I did swap out the green beans for caramelized Brussels sprouts. I could not get enough of this dish! The beef just melted in my mouth and the accompanying veggies added a subtle sweetness to the meat. In fact, I liked this dish so much that I finished the entire plate and didn’t have to give Todd any leftovers that I couldn’t eat. I highly recommend it if you’re ever at The Wave.

The Wave Beef Tenderloin

Next up, dessert of course! Although the dessert selection included only four items (one of which was a cheeseboard), Todd and I both decided on the “creamy flight,” a sampling of three tiny but delicious desserts: a sticky toffee cheesecake with butterscotch sauce, a vanilla creme brulee with berries and topped with crystallized sugar, and a chocolate truffle mousse. I started out liking the cheesecake the best because it combined conflicting flavors really well: salty and sweet, silky and crunchy. But by the end of the meal, I liked the creme brulle best because it had a soft flavor and a smooth texture that didn’t feel as heavy as the cheesecake. The chocolate truffle mousse, while good, wasn’t anything to write home about.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I would definitely give this restaurant 5 out of 5 stars, and I liked it so much that I’m trying to convince Todd to change one of our other dining reservations to come back to The Wave.

 

5 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: The Wave … of American Flavors, at Disney’s Contemporary Review

    • I think they definitely have better food now. It also helps to do a ton of advance planning so that you know which resorts to travel to and eat at, rather than just eat in the parks, because the restaurants in the parks definitely more closely resemble your standard theme park fare.

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

