A New Running Record

Standard

Sometimes it is such a struggle to go running. Today was one of those days: a long, tiring 8 hours at work, followed by an open-mouthed doze on the subway ride home. It took every ounce of energy I had to motivate myself to lace up my Asics Gel Noosa Tri 9 sneakers, but in the end I was glad that I did because I earned a new Nike achievement.


A Nike Achievement!

A Nike Achievement!


Earlier this month, my boyfriend Todd and I went running along the boardwalk in Staten Island. Earlier this week, I jogged four miles with my mom and surprised myself by keeping pace with her. Mostly, I’ve just had runs like today: solo, up and down the grassy, tree-lined parkway near my house. Mostly I listen to music, sometimes I smile at other runners, and once I stopped to help a woman who tripped over her dogs’ leashes. My pace has ranged between 10- and 12-minute miles. According to Nike+, my average is 10:49 per mile.

I guess I didn’t realize just how much I jogged this month, because when I got back from my scorching run today, legs burning and dripping with sweat, I realized I had earned a Nike silver trophy for logging more than 25 miles this month! My takeaway from this is that, while it’s important to listen to your body and take a rest day if you need one, it’s also important to know when you’re just being lazy. In those cases, push yourself to run a little harder or a little longer, and you might just be surprised by the results.

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

