A Perfect Summer Recipe: Berry Pie

Standard

Now that the temperature has reached its seasonal peak, I crave my favorite summer foods: lemonade, pineapple-and-shrimp skewers, burgers slathered with ketchup, fresh corn, sand-dusted sandwiches on the beach, and fruit-filled pies. The best summer pies have a flavor that bursts in your mouth, sticky and sweet yet refreshingly tangy.

So when my coworker (the same one I attended BookCon with) invited me to her new apartment for dinner, what else could I bring for dessert but a warm, homemade, blueberry-raspberry pie? This easy, simple recipe requires minimal preparation and offers great results. (Full disclosure: I adapted this from a Good Housekeeping blueberry pie recipe.)

IMG_20140719_134833

Blueberry-raspberry pie cooling on the stovetop.

Ingredient List:

~ 3 cups blueberries; 2 cups raspberries (feel free to adjust this ratio depending on your personal fruit preferences)
~ 3/4 cup granulated sugar
~ 1/4 cup cornstarch
~ 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
~ 2 Pilsbury premade pie crusts
~ 3 tablespoons butter
~ Large bowl
~ 9-inch pie plate
~ Rimmed baking sheet
~ Tin foil (optional)

Preparation Steps:
~ 10 to 15 minutes before baking, take the pie crust out of the refrigerator and let it sit at room temperature.
~ Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
~ In a large bowl, combine blueberries, raspberries, sugar, cornstarch, and lemon juice. Mix them all up together.
~ Spread one of the pie crusts along the bottom of the pie plate and then pour filling on top of the dough.
~ Dot the filling with 3 tablespoons of butter. (Warning: I messed up here because I put a huge dollop of butter in one spot, and I noticed after baking that the filling in that spot did not congeal at all. So spread out your butter for best results!)
~ Add top crust. If you’re going to leave the top crust whole, I’d suggest making four little slits (one on each side) to give your pie some room to breathe. I followed these Good Housekeeping tips for making a lattice top crust. It was actually really simple and made the pie look so cute!
~ Bake on rimmed baking sheet for one hour or until bubbling.
~ You might want to start off with tin foil around the crust and then take it off partway through. I didn’t start off with the foil because the original recipe didn’t call for it, but about halfway through I thought my crust might burn so I had to struggle to put tin foil on the edges of a hot, halfway-baked pie.

20140719_165756

A slightly broken but still delicious piece of blueberry-raspberry pie. I love the colors in this!

8 thoughts on “A Perfect Summer Recipe: Berry Pie

      • Thanks! If I hadn’t taken it out partway through to put the tin foil, though, I think they would have burned. Those metal edges are genius if they work. The worst part about the tin foil is that every time you get one edge to stay on, another one falls off! Whenever you test them out, let me know how they work! Enjoy the pie if you make it 🙂

  1. A beautiful pie! I hope to get my hands on some wild blueberries soon and make a pie. I’ve never made a latticed pie but have always wanted to–it looks marvelous.

    • Thank you!! If you follow the recipe, let me know how your pie comes out 🙂 I was really afraid about the lattice top but it was surprisingly easy. But about halfway through I had to add tin foil to the edges to keep them from burning. I should probably add that to the recipe lol

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

