Recipe: Gemelli with Oven-Roasted Tomatoes

Standard

As I promised almost exactly one month ago when I did some research on Italian parsley, I’m finally sharing a healthy and delicious pasta recipe that you can use it in. I first saw this recipe in The Good Life, but I’ve made some modifications to it that I think dramatically improve its flavor. Another bonus is that it’s pretty simple to make, as long as you have enough time to wait for the tomatoes to soften.

20140416_175228

Ingredient List:
~ 2 pints of small tomatoes (the original recipe calls for grape tomatoes, but I love to use a yellow, orange, and red tomato assortment)
~ 1 to 1.5 cups of Italian parsley (I left the stems on in the photo above, but in retrospect I realized I should have chopped the parsley to make it easier to eat)
~ 3 cloves of garlic, slivered
~ 1/4 cup of thyme leaves
~ 1 box of gemelli pasta
~ 1 vidalia onion
~ Olive oil
~ Salt
~ Pepper
~ Cottage cheese (about two tablespoons per plate)

Preparation Steps:
~ Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
~ In a tin baking pan, sprinkle salt, pepper, thyme, garlic slivers, and 3 tbsp olive oil on top of tomatoes and mix. Put the plan in the oven to roast until the tomatoes are soft and start splitting (it usually takes about an hour). Stir occasionally.
~ In a saucepan over medium heat, add a little olive oil, chopped vidalia onion, and parsley leaves. Cook until the onions are translucent and the parsley is soft, then move the mixture to a paper towel to drain some of the oil.
~ In another pot, boil water and cook your desired amount of pasta. Reserve 1 cup of pasta water.
~ Once the tomatoes are ready, add 3/4 of the tomatoes and 1/2 cup of pasta water to a large saucepan. Break up the tomatoes to form a sauce, then stir in the parsley and the onions. Simmer for about 5 minutes on low heat.
~ Add pasta to the pan and stir all of the ingredients together.
~ Serve with two tablespoons of cottage cheese on top and remaining tomatoes as a garnish.

20140416_175613

Plated pasta with cottage cheese and tomato garnish

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Gemelli with Oven-Roasted Tomatoes

    • Thanks! I love all kinds of roasted veggies. My boyfriend’s mom taught me this simple way to make the most delicious roasted brussels sprouts: In a baking tin, combine brussel sprouts, salt, pepper, paprika, olive oil, and bread crumbs; stick in the oven until the brussels sprouts get soft (about an hour). It’s so easy but so tasty!

  1. Hi Chris! Your Gemelli recipe sounds so fresh and yummy! I’m so happy that you have been using your herbs all summer long. I’m wondering if you have discovered herb scissors yet? Of course you don’t ‘need’ them, but it’s such fun to take them into the herb garden! These are the kind I use: /www.amazon.com/Trudeau-Herb-and-Garden-Snips/dp/B0088HLVYG/ref=sr_1_41?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1405978143&sr=1-41&keywords=herb+scissors
    I love the little ‘herb stripper’ feature in the center. It makes it so easy to remove the leaves from the stem. I smile every time I use these cute little scissors in the garden and in the kitchen! So, I wanted to share the link with you. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Have a wonderful week! ♡

    • Thank you so much for sharing, Dawn! I had just been using a pair of my dad’s scissors, but these look much cuter and effective. In fact, they’re going on my shopping list right now 🙂 Hope you enjoy the recipe if you try it out. Have a great week as well ❤

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

