My Garden, One Month Later

Standard

On June 12, one month had passed since I last updated you on my garden, just after planting. I spent part of this weekend weeding and pruning and watching and watering. Then I blended some purple basil (1 cup), Italian parsley (1 cup), and thyme leaves (0.5 cup) with olive oil (1.5 cup), vinegar (0.5 cup), lemon juice squeezed from half of a lemon, and a teaspoon of sugar to make a tangy yet flavorful salad dressing. Later, I helped my dad plant some more seedlings he found in the shed; I guess we’ll just have to wait and see if they grow. For now, I offer you a mini photo tour in celebration of my garden’s one-month birthday.

Here  is my garden in its entirety. You can see that the plants have really grown, especially the tomato stalks in the back row:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA This is my purple bell pepper plant. I’m hoping that it will grow: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese are some edible flower plants that I bought in a kit from the Bronx Botanical Garden. I haven’t seen any actual flowers yet, but they’ve made a stunning recovery from the little reeds that I first planted: Garden June 2014  I was super excited to discover this small green globe on my beefsteak tomato plant. Although my dad’s tomato plants already have several bigger ones, I’m glad I even found one at all: Garden June 2014 Finally, here’s the jar of herb dressing that I made and plan to use on my salad for lunch today. If you try the recipe, let me know what you think. If you don’t like vinegar, I’d suggest using less than I described in the recipe above. I happen to love vinegar: Basil Dressing

4 thoughts on “My Garden, One Month Later

  1. Joann Doka

    Oh… you didn’t use the lemon…. hmmmmm I thought you did! Dressing was good even so!

    Garden looks awesome too!!!

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

