Tomato-Basil Salad Dressing

Standard

Yesterday I gently picked some purple basil leaves from my garden, washed them carefully, and dropped them into some extra virgin olive oil. I mixed in a couple of other ingredients; started up my blender; and had a fresh, all-natural tomato-basil salad dressing in literally seconds.

Dressing

Here’s my simple recipe, but I’d definitely encourage experimenting. (Next time I think I want to add some black pepper and maybe a little celery to cool it down.) Ingredients that I used for this version were as follows. Keep in mind that these amounts made about half of a two-cup jar (as seen in the picture above).

Ingredients

~ 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
~ 1/3 cup (purple) basil leaves
~ 2 or 3 cherry tomatoes
~ a pinch of salt (less than 1/4 teaspoon)

Preparation Steps

~ Combine together in a blender
~ Blend for about 20 seconds (I used the “blend” setting for about 15 seconds and the “juice” setting for about 5 seconds, but it really just depends whether you want tomato/basil chunks or not)
~ Transfer to a glass jar and serve on salad

Tomato-basil dressing on a salad

Tomato-basil dressing on a salad

Last night I used the dressing with the simple salad above, which contained tomatoes, cucumbers, and celery. As I write this post, I’m eating it on a bed of mixed greens with some celery, roast beef, and asiago cheese mixed in. Although I wanted to start with something easy for my first homemade dressing, my next attempt might be a little more adventurous. I’m thinking maybe a minty, cucumber-yogurt dressing, but I’d love if you could share any delicious recipes that you have in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Tomato-Basil Salad Dressing

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

