Food Review: Summer Roll from Two Tablespoons

Standard

My boyfriend and I spent the afternoon hours of Memorial Day wandering around Manhattan, surprisingly energetic after running a blazing hot 5k on Roosevelt Island. During our travels, we stumbled upon Mad. Sq. Eats, a collection of food vendors alongside Madison Square park. Because it ends this Friday, May 30, and doesn’t resume until September, we decided to sample some of the offerings before it was too late. Our first stop led to the discovery of my new favorite lunch food: a corn, coconut, and curry sauce summer roll from Two Tablespoons.

Chefs Gosha Danilov and Katya Kosar collaborated to form Two Tablespoons back in 2012, and it has been serving its vegetarian fare at street fairs, food markets, and special events since then. Their goal is “to make delicious vegetarian gluten free food from scratch using only wholesome ingredients with high nutrient density,” and they try to source their produce locally, according to the Two Tablespoons website. The seasonal menu ranges from breakfast offerings like lavender oatmeal squares to main dishes like butternut squash and walnut risotto. The pop-up shop had simpler offerings, focusing on vegan summer rolls and glass noodle salads.

The corn, coconut, and curry sauce summer roll caught my eye right away. At $7.50 for 2 rolls, I worried at first that we wouldn’t get enough food for our money; however, once I saw them preparing the roll, I knew we would be perfectly satisfied. The thin rice paper showed off all of the roll’s stuffing, including carrots, cucumbers (I think), lettuce, and corn. Each bite was crisp and packed with flavor. I didn’t taste the coconut, but I didn’t really miss it either. The mild curry sauce mixed well with the veggies, and the entire roll left a fresh feeling in my mouth and a satisfied feeling in my stomach. I would definitely grab these rolls and bring them back to the office as a healthy lunch or a refreshing mid-meal snack.

Summer Roll

Image

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

