Racing for a Cause

Standard

I wouldn’t call myself a “runner” by any stretch of the word. I don’t pace faster than eleven and a half minutes per mile. I don’t jog more than five miles per week most weeks. So as part of my effort to really develop my running skills, I decided to enroll in several 5k races for motivation. (One of them, the NYPD 2014 Memorial Run, is coming up this Sunday.)

The first of the races, the Bronx Zoo’s 2014 Run for the Wild, took place last month. The weather threatened rain and the temperature wavered between chilly and downright cold. My knee hurt every time we encountered a downhill. But it was worth it. I got to see peacocks and zebras, to share a new experience with my boyfriend, and to help raise money to protect African elephants.

According to the zoo’s Wildlife Conservation Society, 96 elephants in Africa are lost every day. In 2012, poachers killed nearly 35,000 of them in efforts to obtain their ivory. Although it sometimes feels these types of issues are too big for us to do anything about, it was gratifying to learn that even a simple action like running for three miles can help make a difference.

Here are some photos from the event:

Todd and I at the starting line

Todd and I at the starting line

A big brown bear

A big brown bear

A peacock and a zebra we saw after the race.

A peacock and a zebra we saw after the race.

Todd holding the plush elephant we received for our fundraising efforts.

Todd holding the plush elephant we received for our fundraising efforts.

3 thoughts on “Racing for a Cause

Share Your Thoughts with Me!

